Understanding Chrome Dev Tools as a Code Newbie

Understanding Chrome Dev Tools as a Code Newbie

Prior to starting The Odin Project's Full Stack Ruby on Rails track, I only used Chrome Dev Tools a handful of times to view the CSS styling of a specific element or to help me understand how certain scripts were running on a page.

I knew that DevTools was an extremely powerful tool, but I didn't really know where to start my exploration of its many uses.

Below are four resources that I found helpful in understanding how to use Chrome Dev Tools:

✅ This video by Wes Bos is short enough to keep your attention and gives a robust overview of the things that you can accomplish in Dev Tools.

These Google Dev Tool guides in the Dev Tools documentation were easy to follow and provide instant gratification by allowing you to complete small challenges right from the webpage.

This guide by KeyCDN is a perfect one to bookmark. It has lots of useful tips and tricks and I find myself coming back to this article often to refresh my memory.

The Net Ninja has a great series of videos on Chrome Dev Tools as well. I'd recommend watching the entire series!

Walking through these guides/tutorials has already saved me ⏳ and stress in my #codenewbie journey.

I'm sharing these resources with hopes that another beginner finds them useful.

Happy coding, friends! 🚀